The Iconic Champagne Veuve Clicquot Dressed By Yayoi Kusama

The Iconic Champagne Veuve Clicquot Dressed By Yayoi Kusama

To celebrate the edition of the most iconic new vintage in the Veuve Clicquot repertoire, the house called on the Japanese artist Yayoi Kusama to illustrate all the emotion provided by the 2012 La Grande Dame vintage!

La Grande Dame 2012 By Yayoi Kusama

While Yayoi Kusama is not his first collaboration with the Veuve Clicquot house, it is considered to be an event in the art world. Already in 2006, the Japanese artist covered the most famous of Veuve Clicquot’s portraits with her hypnotizing polka dots, at a charity auction in Tokyo.


But this time, in 2020, it is the bottle and case of the emblematic La Grande Dame 2012 cuvée that are dressed in Kusama pop art!

The result of this colorful collaboration is 100 numbered pieces of Champagne La Grande Dame 2012 – dubbed the very poetic title: “My Heart That Blooms in The Darkness of The Night.”

And the cuvée is already iconic – initiated in 1972, its champagnes honor the legacy left by “& nbsp; La Grande Dame du champagne. & nbsp;” A heritage that helps strive for excellence, surprise tastes and make champagne one of the most elegant rituals in life.

To this, Yayoi Kusama’s creation for Veuve Clicquot also joins one of the adages of Veuve Clicquot herself; she who liked to say: “Our wines must flatter both the palate and the eye. “

An artistic transfiguration of the effervescence of Veuve Clicquot bubbles, Yayoi Kusama’s peas clearly echo here the joy that this exceptional champagne brings!

Because powerful and delicate, the La Grande Dame 2012 vintage indeed provokes a thousand and one sensations, and many delights!

Didier Mariotti, Cellar Master Veuve Clicquot says it very rightly: “The magic of this blend consists in magnifying wines to achieve balance and harmony. At Veuve Clicquot, the quality of Pinot Noir determines whether a year will be vintage. The 2012 one certainly was – and the 2012 La Grande Dame vintage expresses its perfection.

A perfection again captured by the words of Didier Mariotti: “La Grande Dame 2012 is a wine that is both precise and airy. This new vintage offers a strong minerality, associated with the freshness of its youth. Its aging potential is immense. “

These 100 very special editions of La Grande Dame 2012 champagne are therefore coupled with this taste for avant-garde and excellence – a strong identity shared by Yayoi Kusame and Veuve Clicquot!

L’Iconique Champagne Veuve Clicquot Habillé Par Yayoi Kusama…

L’Iconique Champagne Veuve Clicquot Habillé Par Yayoi Kusama…

Pour célébrer l’édition du nouveau millésime le plus iconique du répertoire Veuve Clicquot, la maison a fait appel à l’artiste Japonaise Yayoi Kusama pour illustrer toute l’émotion que procure le millésime La Grande Dame 2012 !

La Grande Dame 2012 Par Yayoi Kusama

Si Yayoi Kusama n’en est pas à sa première collaboration avec la maison Veuve Clicquot, celle-ci tient pour être un évènement dans le monde l’art. Déjà en 2006, l’artiste Japonaise recouvrait de ses pois hypnotisants le plus célèbre des portraits de la Veuve Clicquot, à l’occasion d’une vente aux enchères caritative à Tokyo.


Mais cette fois, en 2020, c’est bien la bouteille et l’étui de l‘emblématique cuvée La Grande Dame 2012 qui s’habillent du pop art Kusama !

Il résulte ainsi de cette collaboration haute en couleurs 100 pièces numérotées du champagne La Grande Dame 2012 — adoubée du titre très poétique: “ My Heart That Blooms in The Darkness of The Night.”

Et la cuvée a déjà tout d’iconique — initiée en 1972, ses champagnes honorent l’héritage laissé par « La Grande Dame du champagne. » Un héritage qui concourt à viser l’excellence, à surprendre les goûts et à faire du champagne l’un des rîtes les plus élégants de la vie.

A cela, la création de Yayoi Kusama pour Veuve Clicquot rejoint aussi l’un des adages de la Veuve Clicquot elle-même; elle qui aimait à dire: « Nos vins doivent flatter à la fois le palais et l’œil. »

Transfiguration artistique de l ‘effervescence des bulles Veuve Clicquot, les pois de Yayoi Kusama font clairement ici écho à l’allégresse que procure ce champagne d’exception !

Car puissant et délicat, le millésime La Grande Dame 2012 provoque en effet mille et unes sensations, et moult délices !

Didier Mariotti, le Chef de Caves Veuve Clicquot le dit très justement: « La magie de cet assemblage consiste à magnifier des vins pour atteindre équilibre et harmonie. Chez Veuve Clicquot, la qualité du Pinot Noir détermine si une année sera millésimée. » Celle de 2012 le fut assurément — et le millésime La Grande Dame 2012 en exprime la perfection.

Une perfection là encore capturée par les mots de Didier Mariotti: « La Grande Dame 2012 est un vin à la fois précis et aérien. Ce nouveau millésime offre une forte minéralité, associée à la fraîcheur de sa jeunesse. Son potentiel de garde est immense. »

Ces 100 éditions très spéciales du champagne La Grande Dame 2012 se doublent donc de ce goût pour l’avant-garde et l’excellence — une identité forte que partage Yayoi Kusame et la Veuve Clicquot !