Richard Orlinski, Born Wild

His work comes to live around the concept of “Born Wild”, aiming to transform negative impulses towards animals into a positive sentiment with savagery and beauty. “Savage animal violence is astutely used. Contrary to that of men, often uselessly used for wars or murders.” His animals, made with a brush hook, tend to magnify reality with attention to perfection. Their proportions are sometimes modified to accentuate their ferocity, their strength, or their majesty, an emotion that is reinforced by the powerful colors of his works or by their often monumental size. The simplified shapes of the subject erase all details so that the animal becomes but a multitude of smooth facets or a complex metallic lacework.

Giving much importance to the spectator’s vision, Richard Orlinski says that he sculpts “to sublime reality and create living, beautiful, and timeless works of art that kindle emotions in the eyes of the other.” It seems he would tend to achieve this goal since the artist, whose works are on display in a variety of locations such as public spaces, “loves the idea of being able to bring the museum to the spectators,” and the artist says he wants “to break the rules” so that his work “is accessible, including with young people who can buy my miniature sculptures for a few hundred Euros. Art has no borders.” This is how his creations are able to reach a very wide audience, from art connoisseurs to amazed children with clients like Sharon Stone, Rihanna, Harrison Ford, and David Guetta in between.

Lately, it was ex-Beatle Paul McCartney’s turn to cave to one of his pieces. Richard Orlinski himself handed over this creation, that was none other than a guitar. Collectors are also scrambling for his works, such as billionaire Richard Branson or an Italian collector who invested 10 million Euros for a pin-up coming out of the mouth of a giant gold crocodile, a record for the artist. The prices for his works at auction are often exorbitant; a gold and diamond panther was purchased for 680,000 Euros by a private client. The artist is artistically invested in humanitarian causes and participates in a number of charity auctions, such as in 2014 when 30-40 works from the renowned artist were sold at auction at Christie’s for the organization “La Chaîne de l’Espoir”. During a charity soirée that brought together The Global Gift Foundation, Unicef, and The Eva Longoria Foundation, Richard Orlinski put up artworks for sale for a good cause and saw a panther sculpture sell for 18,000 Euros.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Richard Orlinski, Born Wild

Son oeuvre se déploie autour du concept « Born wild », visant à transformer les pulsions négatives face à l’animal en sentiment positif, et la sauvagerie, en beauté. « la violence animale, sauvage, est utilisée à bon escient. Contrairement à celle de l’homme souvent inutile de par les faits de guerres ou de meurtres ». Ses animaux, taillés à la serpe, tendent, dans un souci de perfection, à magnifier la réalité. Leurs proportions sont parfois modifiées pour accentuer leur férocité, leur force ou leur majesté, émotion renforcée par la couleur puissante de ses oeuvres et par leur taille, souvent monumentale. Les formes du sujet, simplifiées, gomment le détail pour que l’animal ne devienne qu’une multitude de facettes lisses ou une complexe dentelle métallique.

Accordant beaucoup d’importance à la vision du spectateur, Richard Orlinski dit sculpter « pour sublimer la réalité et créer des oeuvres d’art vivantes, belles et intemporelles, qui suscitent l’émotion dans le regard de l’autre ». Un but qu’il tend à atteindre puisque ses oeuvres, exposées un peu partout, notamment dans des lieux publics puisque l’artiste « adore l’idée de pouvoir amener le musée aux spectateurs » et l’artiste dit vouloir : « casser les codes » et que son œuvre doit « être accessible, y compris aux jeunes qui peuvent acquérir mes sculptures miniatures pour quelques centaines d’euros. L’art n’a pas de frontières. » ainsi ses créations touchent un public très large, de l’amateur d’art connaisseur à l’enfant émerveillé en passant par des clients comme Sharon Stone, Rihanna, Harrison Ford, ou encore David Guetta.

Dernièrement, c’était au tour de l’ex-Beatles Paul McCartney de craquer pour ses œuvres. Richard Orlinski lui a remis en mains propres sa création, qui ne pouvait être autre qu’une guitare. Des collectionneurs se battent également pour ses œuvres comme le milliardaire Richard Bronson ou un collectionneur italien qui a investit 10 millions d’euros pour une pin-up sortant de la bouche d’un crocodile en or massif, un record pour l’artiste. Les prix de ses œuvres présentées aux enchères s’envolent et lors d’une vente, une panthère or et diamants a été acheté 680 000 euros par un client privé. L’artiste s’investit artistiquement dans les causes humanitaires et participe à de nombreuses ventes de charité comme en 2014 ou 30 à 40  œuvres d’artistes renommés ont été vendues aux enchères chez Christie’s au profit de l’association « La Chaîne de l’Espoir ». Lors d’une soirée de charité qui regroupait The Global Gift Foundation, Unicef et The Eva Longoria Foundation, Richard Orlinski a mis des œuvres en ventes pour la bonne cause et une sculpture Panthère a vu les enchères s’envoler à 18 000 euros.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *