Harry Winston: Diamonds Are A Girl’s Best Friend

The history of the jewelry house sung by Marilyn Monroe, who owns the second largest collection of jewelry pieces. The history of Harry Winston, an exceptional diamond cutter.

Harry Winston, An Extraordinary Story

New York. 1932 – Harry Winston is a passionate gemologist when he founded his house in the Big Apple. A passion for stones and diamonds certainly, but above all a business sense. Three years later, Harry Winston bought his first major diamond – rough uncut 726 carats, it was called ‘Jonker’.

12 individual stones result from it. The largest, an emerald-cut diamond, represented a total of 125.35 carats.

Bold, Harry Winston certainly was. He sent the stone to New York, then decided to send the rough diamond himself by registered mail. For 64 cents. In 1938, after having heard in the press of the discovery of a rough diamond of 726.60 carats in Brazil, Harry Winston did not hesitate a second and flew in search of the treasure.

He eventually finds his trace, acquiring it in Antwerp – the extraordinary rough diamond called Vargas entered his collection! Its ornaments are so exquisite that Harry Winston is the first jeweler in the world to adorn an actress with his diamonds. Today, a common practice, Harry Winston has thus become the “Jeweler of the Stars”. From Elizabeth Taylor to Marilyn Monroe, adulation is mutual.

An Iconic Logo

In his creations, Harry Winston signs them of a very innovative spirit for the time – at his place, the precious stones dictate the design of each around, and not the frame. This philosophy can be seen in a logo that has become synonymous with the King of diamonds. An eight-sided logo makes it an emerald engraved with the initials H.W.

Harry Winston adoring this stone cut more than any other, the emerald has become a strong symbol of the house. A logo that underlines a flawless commitment to first-rate quality.

In 1948, the Duke and Duchess of Windsor met him for the first time. A few weeks before, the Duchess of Windsor had written to Harry Winston in a letter “My friends tell me that you have such wonderful things”

Among these wonders, legends like the Taylor-Burton diamond, offered in 1966 by Richard Burton to his wife Elizabeth Taylor. A pear-shaped diamond of 69.42 carats fashioned by Harry Winston from a rough diamond of 241 carats.

Marilyn Monroe already entered her name as a legend, in 1953, in the no less mythical film “ Men prefer the Blondes”. In the film’s key song, Diamonds are a Girl’s Best Friend, she sings “Talk to me Harry Winston!” Tell me all about it! From New York, London, Paris, Geneva to Tokyo, Hong Kong and Shanghai, the name Harry Winston is on everyone’s lips!

LIFE magazine, again, claimed that Harry Winston actually had the second largest collection of jewelry after the Queen of England.

Harry Winston, Diamonds Are A Girl’s Best Friend

L’histoire de la maison joaillière chantée par Marilyn Monroe, possédant la deuxième plus grande collection de pièces joaillières… L’histoire de Harry Winston, un diamantaire d’exception.

Harry Winston, Une Histoire Hors Norme

New York. 1932. Harry Winston est un gemmologue passionné lorsqu’il fonde sa maison dans la Grande Pomme. Une passion pour les pierres et les diamants certes, mais surtout un sens des affaires. Trois ans plus tard, Harry Winston achète son premier diamant d’importance — brut non taillé de 726 carats, il se nomme ‘Jonker’.

12 pierres individuelles en découlent. La plus grande, un diamant taille émeraude, représente au total 125,35 carats.

Audacieux, Harry Winston l’est certainement. Pour expédier la pierre vers New York, il décide d’envoyer lui-même le diamant brut par courrier recommandé. Pour 64 cents. En 1938, après avoir eu vent dans la presse de la découverte d’un diamant brut de 726,60 carats au Brésil, Harry Winston n’hésite pas une seconde et s’envole à la recherche du trésor.

Il finit par retrouver sa trace, l’acquiert à Anvers — l’extraordinaire diamant brut dénommé Vargas entre dans sa collection ! Ses parures sont si exquises qu’Harry Winston est premier joaillier au monde à parer une actrice de ses diamants… Aujourd’hui pratique commune, Harry Winston est ainsi devenu le « Joaillier des Stars. » D’Elizabeth Taylor à Marilyn Monroe, l’adulation est réciproque.

Un Logo Iconique

Ses créations, Harry Winston les signe d’un esprit très innovant pour l’époque — chez lui, les pierres précieuses dictent le design de chaque atour, et non la monture. Cette philosophie se lit dans un logo devenu synonyme du Roi des diamants. Un logo à huit côtés, en fait une émeraude où viennent se graver les initiales H.W.

Harry Winston adorant cette taille de pierre plus que nulle autre, l’émeraude est devenue un code fort de la maison. Un logo qui vient souligner un engagement sans faille pour une qualité de tout premier ordre.

En 1948, c’est le duc et la duchesse de Windsor qui le rencontre pour la première fois. Quelques semaines avant, la duchesse de Windsor avait écrit à Harry Winston dans une lettre « Mes amis me disent que vous avez des choses si merveilleuses… »

Parmi ces merveilles, des légendes à l’instar du diamant Taylor-Burton, offert en 1966 par Richard Burton à son épouse Elizabeth Taylor. Un diamant taille poire de 69,42 carats façonné par Harry Winston à partir d’un diamant brut de 241 carats.

Marilyn Monroe porte des diamants Harry Winston dans Les Hommes Préfèrent Les Blondes

Marilyn Monroe n’avait-elle déjà fait entrer son nom dans la légende, en 1953, dans le film non moins mythique ‘Les Hommes préfèrent les Blondes’? Dans la chanson clé du film, Diamonds are a Girl’s Best Friend, elle chante bien « Talk to me Harry Winston ! Tell me all about it ! » De New York, Londres, Paris, Genève en passant par Tokyo, Hong Kong, et Shanghai, le nom Harry Winston est bien sur toutes les lèvres !

Le magazine LIFE, là encore, assurait qu’Harry Winston possédait en fait la deuxième plus grande collection de pièces joaillières. Après la Reine d’Angleterre…